Published! Thank you, Scary Mommy!

Well, it doesn’t seem real, but one of my blog posts has been published on Scary Mommy!  It’s a parenting website with about 1.4 million followers!  If you’re interested, here is the link:  Being A Mom Without A Mom.

What makes this so interesting is that I didn’t write this article with the intent to publish it.  Once again, I was feeling strong emotions and just jotted this down as a post on my other blog (A Writing Mama’s Journal).  I shared it with some of my Facebook friends.  It received positive feedback.  A few of my friends encouraged me to submit it.

I was honestly on the fence about it.  This piece is about my mother.  She was an incredibly private person, so I struggled with this.  I didn’t want to do anything that would violate her personal life.  That’s the main reason I haven’t really published anything about what happened to her during her 15-year illness.  I have about 300 pages from my days of sitting next to her in the hospital, rehab facilities, nursing home and finally, in her house, under hospice care.

I don’t know if I would ever publish that.  My wounds are still too raw from the entire experience.

But I think this piece really shows how much I loved her.  And still love her.  So, I dedicate this to you, Rita.  I love you.  I miss you.  I wish you were still here.  Until we meet again.

Leave a Reply

